Book Review – Inside of a Dog: What Dogs See, Smell and Know

Author(s)

Alexandra Horowitz

What’s it about?

This book is about canine cognition, one of the more recent trends in dog behaviour research these days. More importantly, this book covers how dogs perceive the word around them and what it might be like to be a dog in a human world.

Why did I choose this book?

I picked this book up because I saw the author last year at the Association of Pet Dog Trainers Conference and Trade Show in Atlanta where she delivered the keynote speech. The speech kind of left me unsatisfied and I wanted to know more, so I bought the book.

Pros

  • Great information about how dogs are physically wired to experience world differently than we do ā€“ this is especially valuable for those of us who are training dogs.
  • Detailed index make it easy to go back and look up a reference.
  • Notes and Sources section lists a great repository of research, writing and commentary on dog behaviour for those of us that like to dig further.

Cons

  • This is not a training book.
  • I can’t explain why but I had a really difficult time reading this book. I have picked it up and put it down so many times that I it has taken me almost a year to read it.
  • This book is written by a researcher and has LOTS of references to scientific authors. I love this kind of thing but I do not like the fact that references are not at the end of each chapter but at the back of the book in a notes section.

I would recommend this book to:

  • Anyone who lives and/or works with dogs.

Overall Rating

3.5/5

Leave a Reply

