Book Review: Stress in Dogs

 

Author (s): Martina Scholz & Clarissa von Reinhardt

Publication Date: 2007

Publisher: Dogwise Publishing

What’s it about?

This is a book about identifying stress in dogs so that owners and pet professionals can better identify stress triggers and prevent or diffuse inappropriate behaviour.

Why did I choose this book?

As soon as I saw this title listed on Dogwise, it went immediately on the top of my wish list. We’ve known about the physical and psychological effects of stress in humans for a long, long time but for some reason, it seems that we never thought about stress in dogs. Until I read this book, some of the dog training and behaviour titles I had read talked about stress and signs of stress but none of them had really addressed all the things a person could do to reduce stress – at least not in English. This book is translated from the original German book, Stress bei Hunden which was published in 2003.

Pros

  • Short and to the point (less than 150 pages)
  • Survey questions used to identify stressful living conditions and selected results were shared.
  • Case studies are included to illustrate examples of unacceptable behaviours caused by stress and how stress reduction programs helped reduced unwanted behaviour.

Cons

  • I can’t think of any!

I would recommend this book to:

Everyone who lives trains or works with dogs – If I won the lottery, I’d give this book to every person I met that had anything to do with dogs.

Overall Rating

5/5

Leave a Reply

