Tender Tuna Treats

At the last Rally Obedience Trial we attended in Regina, Saskatchewan, I borrowed some of my friend Dayna’s tuna fudge for one of our runs and Bear just about lost his mind. Tuna is not something Bear gets on a regular basis so I got to thinking I should make some grain free tuna treats for him and so, after a bit of experimenting in the kitchen, I came up with these.

Here we go…

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.

In a blender or food processor, puree tuna (water included) and eggs until smooth. I pureed one can of tuna and one egg at a time because my blender is kinda small.

Once your eggs and tuna are pureed smooth, add in sliced garlic and puree until smooth again.

Pour your pureed garlic, tuna and eggs into a bowl and mix in tapioca flour, making sure to whisk out lumps. I used my mixer but a whisk works well too.

Line a loaf pan with parchment paper or lightly coat it in cooking spray and pour in the batter. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes.

Once the loaf is finished baking, remove it from the pan immediately to cool upside down on a cooling rack.

Once cool, cut your loaf to whatever size you prefer.

Store in a sealed container in yourfreezer, taking out what you need for training on a daily basis.

Download a Printable Version of this Recipe Here. 

Have a dog-friendly recipe you’d like us to feature? Send us your recipe and we’d be pleased to share it!

Leave a comment